Towards Osaka Blue Ocean Vision - G20 Implementation Framework for Actions on Marine Plastic Litter

Projects

Projects and Initiatives on Marine Plastic Litter by International Organizations

Organizations Name of project / initiative URL
Alliance to End Plastic Waste Alliance to End Plastic Waste https://endplasticwaste.org/
Economic Research Institute for ASEAN and East Asia (ERIA) Economic Research Institute for ASEAN and East Asia (ERIA) http://www.eria.org/
Regional knowledge center for marine plastic debris Coming soon
Ellen MacArthur Foundation Global Commitment https://www.newplasticseconomy.org/projects/global-commitment
Plastics Pact network https://www.newplasticseconomy.org/projects/plastics-pact
Global Environment Facility (GEF) GEF-7 Investment http://www.thegef.org/sites/default/files/publications/GEF-7%20Programming%20Directions%20-%20GEF_R.7_19.pdf
International Resource Panel (IRP) Global Resources Outlook https://www.resourcepanel.org/reports/global-resources-outlook
Natural Resource Use in the Group of 20: Status, trends, and solutions https://www.resourcepanel.org/reports/natural-resource-use-group-20
Joint Group of Experts on the Scientific Aspects of Marine Environmental Protection (GESAMP) Joint Group of Experts on the Scientific Aspects of Marine Environmental Protection (GESAMP) http://www.gesamp.org/
Ocean Conservancy Ocean Conservancy https://oceanconservancy.org/
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Global Forum on Environment – Plastics in a Circular Economy: Design of Sustainable Plastics from a Chemicals Perspective https://www.oecd.org/environment/waste/global-forum-on-environment-plastics-in-a-circular-economy.htm
Improving Markets for Recycled Plastics https://www.oecd.org/environment/improving-markets-for-recycled-plastics-9789264301016-en.htm
Responsible Supply Chains in the Garment and Footwear Sector http://www.oecd.org/industry/inv/mne/responsible-supply-chains-textile-garment-sector.htm
The World Bank PROBLUE https://www.worldbank.org/en/programs/problue
United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) Addressing the challenge of Marine Plastic Litter using Circular Economy methods https://www.unido.org/sites/default/files/files/2019-06/UNIDO_Addressing_the_challenge_of_Marine_Plastic_Litter_Using_Circular_Economy_0.pdf
Study on available sustainable alternative materials to plastics, and innovative packaging and recycling technologies that meet market needs in Africa to reduce plastics leakages to the environment https://www.unido.org/news/japan-funds-unido-project-south-africa-find-alternatives-single-use-plastic
World Economic Forum Global Battery Alliance https://www.weforum.org/global-battery-alliance/home
GPAP (Global Plastic Action Partnership) https://www.weforum.org/gpap
PACE (Platform for Accelerating the Circular Economy) https://pacecircular.org/